Humbled by Love

Often when people hear the word humility or are instructed to be humble, they see the word as negative and humility a sign of weakness.  For example, we live in a world where many women do not want to be humble before their husbands and people struggle with being humble before their employers. But the concept of humility is a really positive one and being humbled can lead to a very beautiful experience.

Recently while in the Dominican Republic, I experienced love which was both overwhelming and humbling.  I went there to spend time with a family who was grieving the loss of a husband and father. Emiliano, the deceased, was a caring man whom my husband and I have known for almost 30 years. Lloyd was unable to travel with me and so I was alone staying in the second floor room known as Casa Peterson. When my hosts left for their home in the United States, I was the only person in the house. Other members of the family in Esperanza were very concerned about my sleeping alone in the house. Some offered a room in their house, others offered to come and sleep in the house where I was. Pastora Ana came to my room the first evening with an air mattress which she inflated, put by my bed and then slept on it in my room for four nights. Each evening she said goodnight to her husband and then he left.

Such sacrifice touched me deeply.  Her love and the love of those who fed me, climbed the stairs with me to be sure no one was around my room and who shared experiences were indeed very humbling for me. In Matthew 11: 29, Jesus urged people to learn from him because he is gentle and humble in heart. Accepting love from others and from Jesus pleases God and gives a person peace and rest.

Leave a Reply

